Reloading 223

toxo

Trying to decide what to put on my variation.

Cost is very much a factor. For that reason I have to go for an hmr but what else?

Only interested in bunnies and the occasional fox

Think I've finally pinned it down to a.223

Think I might enjoy reloading so what would be a rough cost of the equipment?

• Replies 78
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Speaking from experience. I bought the Lee kit, which was ok-ish. The scale were total trash. Not so much as in accuracy, but it just took soo long to get them set-up right. 4 years on, the only thing i have left of the kit, is the single stage press...

I am quite new to reloading and I bought the Hornady lock and load press - I have not had any problems and I am currently reloading .308 win and 6.5 Creedmore (.223 to follow and I buy the dies etc.).

The Lee classic cast press is good.

You will get plenty of different ideas.

It's OK to start simple so you can save for the buy once cry once purchase. I went with measuring spoons a trickler and rcbs 505 to a charge master when I could afford. Hornady dies have treated me well.

I know I live in the States but you might look into a used press. My second press was an RCBS junior and I see them regularly here for about $50. Mine has been in service since 1981.They are cast iron , will last 2 lifetimes and are relatively small. Perfect for a 223 .I suggest you buy an iron press what ever you do just for longevity. Over the years I have picked up numerous pieces of used equipment for very good prices.

I will say regarding powder measures the Lee Perfect Powder Measure is more consistent than my Redding. Best $20 you can spend for hand loading. Keep us up on what you buy.

Remember you don't need expensive equipment to load quality ammo,just pay close attention to set up and procedures.