100m group size .17hmr

Ok. I am fairly new to the rifle. It's a HW60j and was told it likes Winchesters. But can't buy them locally. So I tried Remingtons. Had some split cases and two wouldn't eject so carried on with the Hornady V max. No drama with them so far.

At 100yrds my groups are so so. I get two that are tight (touching) then the other two are about an inch or so off. There all with in one and a half inch but I'm sure it can do better. Only had limited time with it so unsure on what closer groups are like. I have been prone position with bipod and rear bag today and wind was light.

What should I be getting?? Or what do you get at 100 or so yards??

Inch to inch and half at 100 yards on a calmish day that's about what I get with 20 inch HB CZ varmint.The touching ones,,,yes they are mysterious,,, almost giving some hope for a yet undiscovered perfect tune?,,,,,be happy most will take out the 100 yard bunny,,,,,don,t expect anymore,,,,,,O

It's the ammo, not you or the rifle.

The quality of the ammo has declined dramatically since the calibre first appeared.

I, and one of my shooting buddies both have Weihrauch HW60s and they perform pretty much exactly as you describe.

Very frustrating because with a good batch of ammoytou can easily shoot bunnies out beyond 150 yards.

The problem is you simply don't know how any given box of ammunition will perform.

Cheers

Bruce

.17HMR and the curse of poor quality ammo, its a well documented story that has seen many HMR's traded in for something more reliable.

A caliber I never found delivered on its promises.

Seems like 1 inch at 100 yards is pretty much what current ammo delivers-there seems no way to sort batches either,but in low wind,that is sufficient...