Is any pitting acceptable?

Landyrattle

Hi, as a newbie I'd appreciate some advice.

I've been offered a high quality rifle whose barrel has nice crisp rifling and an undamaged crown but has some pitting, supposedly due to poor cleaning before storage.

Is there any way of gauging what impact pitting may have on the potential precion that the rifle could offer or is it best to walk away if the price cannot be 'adjusted' to allow for a new barrel?

Many thanks.

I've been offered a high quality rifle whose barrel has nice crisp rifling and an undamaged crown but has some pitting, supposedly due to poor cleaning before storage.

Is there any way of gauging what impact pitting may have on the potential precion that the rifle could offer or is it best to walk away if the price cannot be 'adjusted' to allow for a new barrel?

Many thanks.

Personally I`d walk.

Many thanks.

It depends on the price of the rifle and its intended purpose. If you want to shoot bench rest then I wouldn't take the chance, but if you're shooting deer or fox then it wouldn't be such a issue.

I have a heavily pitted barrel that has shot 100's of foxes.

landyrattle-same as you'd do for a Landy rattle-check it out!

ie as jcs and elwood-shoot it and see if the holes on paper are good enough for your useage.If not,or you can't so test it,SWS has the no risk option. A rebarrel might be around £750.....it would have to be a superior rifle to justify that premium,and be reflected in the price.

gbal

My 6.5 06 barrels bore is pitted and cracked real bad now and it still shoots extremely well.gave me 1st place in 1000yds club shoot sunday in that real windy conditions.my 308 bore has pitting too and that gave me 1st place aswell in second 1000yds shoot.ive had both from new so get it checked by a smith who knows best.