creedmoor with rs52

nicky.223

Hi guys I got myself a 6.5 creedmoor and I'm going to use 140 grn amax and I got a kg of rs52 just wondering if anyone know the starting point and max load using rs52

Cheers guys I'm new to reloading the Creedmoor

Going by quick load, RS52 is a bit too quick, no more than a 38 gr and 84.6% load density (LD) for a safe starting max load. I use RS60 in the 6.5x47. Very good powder. RS60 is OK in the 6.5 Creedmoor, but don't go much above what's listed on the RS website (42.7 gr). Putting in RS70 with a 142 gr SMK gives 2,869 fps with a 660 mm (26") barrel at 100% load density (LD) at 46.35gr. Though the pressures are getting a bit high. A load of 45.0 gr (97% LD) would be a better max point to aim at for a starting load ladder (obviously starting at about 10% lower).

So far, in three or four cartridges, I've found that RS52 and VarGet use very similar loads. So that provides a starting point - nothing more as they cannot be treated as equivalents / substitutes. Hodgdon lists data for VarGet in the Creedmoor for the 140gn Hornady A-Max.

Neither powder would be my choice for this combination - too fast burning by a fair margin. The norm for this combination is Hodgdon H4350 and this is used in factory ammo, the stated load being Hornady case, F210M primer, 140gn A-Max at 2.800" COAL (provided the industry standard chamber and/or PT&G reamer chamber is used) and 41.9gn H4350.

VarGet (and RS52 too) will produce lower MVs than H4350 at maximum pressures. So far as the Reload Swiss range goes, I'd suggest RS62 a single-base tubular number with a similar burning rate to the 4350s. I've used it successfully in 6.5X47L and 6.5 Creedmoor. RS60 as suggested by Swarovski1 will give VERY high MVs in the cartridge, but at maximum loads will likely also produce VERY short barrel life.

Opps nicky.223,

I forgot, this website has six interesting articles on the and reloading the 6.5 Creedmoor.

http://rifleshooter.com/tag/6-5-creedmoor/