.243 87grain hornady

abolter

That and the 87gn hollow point were my favourite round for years on almost all quarry.

I loaded with a federal Mag large rifle primer and 40grs of H380, that never let me down.

Well the bad news is you all use something different!! The good news is I have most of the powders mentionned exept RE15.

The other good news is a few of you use this bullet.

Thanks guys I will try a few and let you know how it goes

N135 in my 6br sends the 87 gr vmax at 3100 fps with great results at range, they are what I used to shoot that roe buck ;)

Gaz

I am not contradicting Gaz at all its a great combination,

But in my .243 I tried N135 and found i get very fast pressure rises so small increments at a time if you try it ( half a grain makes a lot of difference )

Regards

V

Vit 160 is superb it gives good case capacity unlike 140 as that's a tad fast for the 87s.been using it for years in a number of 243s

I've been using 87s with 40gns of H380 for over thirty years to very good effect, I use Federal Mag primers because it gives good clean burn so I reckon I can recommend that load from a very experienced background.

I use N160 (42.5gn) with the 87gn V Max, the Hornady manual says that it doesn't react well to such slow burning powders, and I am getting quite dirty necks. Accuracy is reasonable, but not nearly the same accuracy short range compared to my Berger load. I think I will refine my load in the summertime.

I'd considered swapping to N140, as I'd used with some 80gn Bergers but the manual shows thats a little fast, anyone tried N150?

I'd considered swapping to N140, as I'd used with some 80gn Bergers but the manual shows thats a little fast, anyone tried N150?

Yes, with the 87gn Hornady HPBT Varmint / light deer bullet. I don't remember the charge weight, but it worked very well. N150, and even more so N140, can sometimes prove a bit 'peaky' in this application, so a bit of care is needed as you approach top weights.