NV Which one, advice please

Ronin

I have a NV question.

Im new to it, though I use thermal imagers a lot while working..

If I was to look at NV gear for a rifle say up to a 30 cal

What would be the better way to do it;

Say I already have a rifle I'm thinking of using it on - AI AX with pica tinny a plenty and a 4-16 PM11

Forward mounted to existing scope ?

Rear Mounted to existing scope?

Dedicated NV scope ?

Shots to 300 on known ground with backstop which is safe and range markers set to see in dark - so no issues with ranging target (within 50 yds anyway)

Real world experience please, re costs, quality and RELIABLE kit only wanted, something that will work in cold weather, wet weather and keep zero…...

That too much to ask?

Thoughts?

• Replies 71
  • Created
  • Last Reply

For me it would be an Archer add on, never used one with a S & B PM scope. I use mine with a Swaro 2.5 - 15 x 56 and its fantastic, I spot with a thermal, find the target in the scope set at 2.5 (good fov) turn mag up to 10 - 12 x and take the shot nice and clear out to and beyond 250 yds with a N1000 ap laser.

Also with the Archer, Starlight are based in Manchester so any repairs etc can be done under warranty but I've never had any trouble with mine.

I have a NV question.

Im new to it, though I use thermal imagers a lot while working..

If I was to look at NV gear for a rifle say up to a 30 cal. Thats a big cal for NV digi is safer than tubed for recoil.

What would be the better way to do it;

Say I already have a rifle I'm thinking of using it on - AI AX with pica tinny a plenty and a 4-16 PM11

Forward mounted to existing scope ? Pulsar DFA75 £1000ish or (thermal clip-on big money tho) £6000-9000

Rear Mounted to existing scope? Archer or risk a British pvs14 (£1600ish)

Dedicated NV scope ? Pulsar N750 or Drone pro £1290-1600