recommend a rimmie for a friend

A gameshooter friend of mine, is looking to buy himself a rimmie for rabbits and asked me what i though he should get. I told him to get a 17hmr or a .22mag as he isnt bothered about making any noise. What rifle do you think would be best, he doesnt want to spend a fortune as it will not be used a hell of a lot, I was thinking a 17hmr in one of those 16inch CZ varmints would be perfect for some rabbiting, I have no experience with CZ rifles but hear very good things about especially for the money and cant think of much else in .17hmr that is as cheap, I know anchuntz, ruger and weihrauch also make .17hmr's but dont know much about these either. I want to make sure I steer him right as he is a good mate and has thrown a lot of foxing on his shoots my way over the years.

Guest 308Panther

CZ makes good stuff..and is I believe the parent company for Brno Rifles..

I might be wrong about that tho..but I do know there is a connection somewhere to the effect.

.17 HMR or .22mag...tough call.

If he chooses the .17 HMR..limit edible small game to headshots...or use the slightly heavier hollow points.

The balistic tipped ones are very impact sensitive.

By this I mean the bullet literally explodes when it strikes bone and leaves very tiny fragments of bone,

lead,copper and plastic in the wound channel...Head shots limit the damage on edible meat contamination.

Not sure how they work on rabbits(damage)havent shot a bunny w/my .17HMR yet.

But its very terminal on feral cats,coons...

The only (minor) complaint I had...(now fixed) is the 3/8 dovetail scope mounting....

The choices of scope rings available to me to fit the dovetail were limited and put me in the universal multi fit bracket,

the rings wouldnt hold a zero..CZ has since come out with a "weaver" type base....its more a picatinny base then weaver.....once I slid that on and went to Leupold rings for a picatinny base..problem solved.

308Panther

Guest Smeagle