I've found my Mecca

SteveW

Hi all,

I've just made it into the 21st century, got a computer and discovered I'm not alone !!! I joined UKV last night, I've been subscibing to The Varmint Hunters for over 10 years and thought that the yanks were the only one's who had a passion for popping critters. How wrong was I !!! Great to know ur all out there.

Does anyone have any experience with the Barnes 36g varmint grenades? normally use 52g Barts, just fancy a change. Hope to chat to many of you in the future. Cheers Stevie220Ackley

Hi Stevie, welcome to the site buddy.

I have some i am going to use in my 22-250 Ackley but i am still fireforming at the moment, using 53grn SMKs very accurate and great killers.

I presume form your screen name that you have a 220 swift Improved, if so you should be able to get the grenades over the 5000fps mark.

Ian.

PS. Where are you based mate?

Hi Ian,

Thanks for the reply dude, I never envisaged that sort of velocity !! Was thinking about 4600fps, will definately give them a go now.Based just outside Bournemouth, sunny Dorset. How about U ? Had the 220 Ackley about 12 months now, rebarreled Remy by PRS, shoots like dream when i do my bit !!

Great site UKV

One of the videos on the Barnes site has them going at 4300+ from a standard 22-250 so IMO 5000 is achievable form an ackley.

I am waiting for one of my other shooting buddies to send me a copy of the Barnes DVD he says that ground squirrels hit by the varmint grenade are almost vapourised.

I am in Northamptonshire buddy, "Rose of the Shires"

Ian.

Hi Steve welcome to the site just joined a few weeks ago and think its the nuts ;)

Have just ordered some of the grenades for my 243 and cant wait to try them , a mate of mine sent me a video of him using a 22/250 on rabbits in the states and they just explode cant wait to get my paws on them and see what they will do in 6mm.cheers Andy ;)

Hi Andy and every one else who welcomed me