A little tricky one that worked

Fergal

Heres a little tricky baby I recently took on to rebarrel. Its a rifle I knew absolutely nothing about but its owner really wanted to have it rebarreled to 20". I needed his help in every way as I didnt even know how it came apart. I studied its workings for a few days and finally picked my way through what was needed. I got it rebarreled in the end and despite critics telling me it couldnt be done I managed to get her shooting 100%. Not one Id be any great rush to take on again but good for the old confidence regardless.IMG_0244.jpgpaulsmiths1.jpga.jpgIMG_0009.jpgd.jpg

not my cup of taea i am afraid butwell done fergal on susssing it out and making somebodies dreams come alive

Fergal,

Just out of idle interest, how do you do the gas port hole? Is the answer just 'drill it' :lol: or is it more complicated than that?

Yes and no, the gas port had to be drilled but not as simple as that. It had to be drilled on the groove and not on the land, this was where it got tricky, I had to be certain to work out my twist and distance back to where the hole went, this is why I said I wouldnt be in any rush to do it again although I would do it again alright. After chambering and torquing the action on I had to go then and look at the start of the groove at the muzzle and calculate the twist back to the spot where the hole goes, the chances of it being bang on were vertually impossible as indeed it was well away from where I wanted it so it was a case then of going back and tweeking the shoulder and getting it spot on which obviously I managed after a lot of nervous breakdowns and valium. To top it all off the hole had to be 1.5mm and guess what size the land was, you got it first time 1.5mm. pure nightmare but we cant have it easy all the time.

Christ Fergal, no wonder you lads have no more deer up your way...

is she in 308?

Well done

edi

Hi Edi, no its a .223 and a .223 Ill never forget at that.