Scope magnification needed for 'informal' long range

It's likely that I'll soon have a 6.5 CM and will want to stretch its legs a bit. Trouble is I'm never shot beyond 600 yds so I have no personal experience of what scope I will need. A 6-24 is the most powerful scope I've used and most of my shooting at 600 is actually with a 4 mag (- CSR Service Optics class).

To shoot up to 1,000 yds and maybe beyond, what mag should I be considering? Targets will be mainly metal plates on my own hillside and at Bisley, the 'normal' targets on Stickledown during a club day.

I guess my key question is whether 24 mag is enough or do I need to go higher? Seen a very tempting Vortex Golden Eagle 15-60x52 and a couple of nice Nightforces .....

Thanks in advance and apologies if some of you consider this to be a dumb question but I really would prefer to ask for some advice before spending £2k or so on a scope which could be more mag that is needed or not enough. :)

I've got a 6-24 spare and a Zeiss 6.5-20 in a box somewhere...

Dunc, It's easy to say the Vortex would be excellent-and indeed it might well be-depends partly on reticule,and turrets etc....but as you have not much experience,and have a Zeiss which will be good optically,why not go with what you have,and see how you get on informally-most NIghtforces are very good too for targe work-but again,reticule etc....they are especially attactive as used scopes.

Some just can't hack very high mag-I'd not want less than 40x,and have several such NFs,but conditions are not always suitable for the max mag - mist,or mirage-but 30+ is always welcome/helpful and enables precise aiming-centre bull,not just somewhere on it!