Steyr SSG rifles , any info

Hi Guys ,

I am after any info good or bad about the Steyr SSG rifles , also would like to see some pics of them , especially the new version with the alloy folding stock that was at the IWA show this year ,

Cheers Chris

Chris

I`ve got the SSG Police in 22-250 in a Mac stock.Theres some pics somewhere I`ll try to dig out later.I love mine and its a fabulous foxing rifle if you`ve got transport.I wouldn`t like to carry it round all day/night though

Northernchris has the SSG and knows a lot more about them than the average bear so he`s probably the man to answer your questions :D

Chris

I have no special knowledge of these rifles but bought one a year ago in 308. I didn't mean to buy one exactly but I was in the Sportman in Paignton and was talked into having it. A pal of mine had already been nagging me to get one on the basis that they're just about the most-accurate out of the box 308 you're going to find short of custom rifles at twice the price. This particular rifle was a good deal as the shop had bought in a job lot of the police version (lighter barrel and iron sights) complete with 6x Khales scope - too good to pass up.

Good points - accuracy, smooth feeding magazine, you can still get 10-shot magazines, trigger is crisp, hammer-forged barrel is tough. They all seem to shoot half an inch and, if you want to check, they come with a test target. Everyone I know who has one loves it.