Little bit concerned

Triumph045

All,

I'm fairly new to all this re-loading malarkey!!!

I want to work up a load for my Remmington 700 in .308 Win. I'm using 167gr Lapua OTM bullet (looks like a hpbt) fiocchi large rifle primers, Lapua brass, and Vhitavori N-150 powder.

In my Lee reloading manual (Modern reloading, second edition) it doesn't give me a Vhitavori N-150 option for a 167gr bullet, but it does say that a start load for 168 gr (jacketed bullet) is 38.6 grains of Vhitavori N-150, With a never exceed load of 44.5 grains. Now here's my problem, in my Speer reloading manual #14 it gives no options for a 167gr bullet, but it does say that a start load for a 168gr 30 match BTHP with Vhitavori N-150 is 43gr with a maximum charge of 47.0 (although the latter is a "C" compressed load (which I wouldn't go near anyway) my worry is that if I go with the Speer manual and ladder load to say 46.4g of Vhitavori N-150, I'm not maxing out according to Speer, but I'm well over the "never exceed" according to RIchard Lee.

Could someone please give me a steer as to where I'm going wrong?

Many thanks

Triumph045.

Use this one.

Its lapua's accuracy load, and it shoots in any .308 i've ever tried it in. It was so good in my AX, I did absolutely nothing with it.

44.8 grains [max load ] of vhit 150

Lapua brass

167 g scenar

I use BR2 primers.

OAL of 2.795"

Drop it by a grain, and play with the seating depth. Its the best .308 load i've ever used.

Well, in Quickload the 167gn Scenar and N-150, with a 26" barrel predicts:

Load A= Max pressure of 49115psi and MV of 2632fps using a charge of 44.5gn (106% filling)

Load B= Max pressure of 59135psi and MV of 2770fps using a charge of 47.0gn (112% filling)

So both are potentially compressed loads if you stick to the standard OAL of 2.8".

I'd not be too worried trying load A, but I'd definitely build up to load B.