quickload guru

Hi

I have treated myself to quickload and managed to concern myself straight away.

I put my grendel load in which i have used for '000's of rounds and apart from some primer flattening in hot weather i have had no problems.

Put it into quickload and it says its a dangerous load ! (31g blc2 and 123g scenar to mag length 2.265)

Looking at the figures it predicts a velocity of 2689 when my chrono shows 2550 . It is my 1st play with the programme and I'm still a novice but how accurate is it ?

The max posted load is 31.5 although this is for gas operated semis / autos

Andy

Have you made sure all the data you have loaded is correct ???

1. Bullet overall length.

2. Seating depth.

3. Barrel length

4. Case H20 capacity. (This is very important because case capacities varies quite a lot with different brass manufacturers.)

I Have used quickload for about 5 years and have always found it to be accurate to within 50fps if I ensure the data I load is correct. However most of my most accurate loads have been deemed to be "Dangerous". (Usually upto 5000psi over the max recommended pressure)

I find it quite varied values mainy around the pressure. My 243 loads with Varget and 70 grain Noslers was absolutely spot on. Velocity and overpressure matched real world findings. My 270 WSM, you cant realistically load it to the levels that QL show are within the blue. You get to about 80% of max and things start to get sticky. My 20 TAC I can go well into the red (well in) and things are completely fine.

As has been said above, seating depth and true case capacity have an affect.

I tend to use QL more to give me +90% fill with the best velocity starting in mid blue and do the rest manualy. I too find the majority of my loads are the ones that are either at or over danger levels, but obviously don't recommend that as a method to follow.