Remington Varmint rifles, laminate or HS precision

Toby

Not what you wanted to hear but my 2 cents.

I won't own a Remington. They are the 10/22 of the centerfire bolt action world: You buy the rifle and proceed to modify it one feature at a time until you get a rifle equal to another maker's off the rack model. We can't get Tikka Varmint models here too easily so I have no experience with them, but I'd take my T-3 Lite .223 over any Remington, of any model in the same chambering. I've worked on too many of them. ~Andrew

I know that they are not everyones cup of tea but I am decided on a Remington 700. Surely if they are as bad as many make out then the US government/military and law enforcement wouldn't have chosen them? I realise that they are far from perfekt but they seem to be a solid platform to build on to ones own taste with a myriad of spares available. I have heard of quality issues from recent rifles and of course the trigget recall on one or two rifles......

The Tikka is a Nice rifle for sure, nearly guaranteed to shoot straight out the box, however I am not keen on 223 length cartridges in 30-06 length actions. Probably stupid for sure but I have been spoilt with my Sakos :-@.

Thanks for Your input.

I do not want to try and sell a Remington to any one all down to individual taste but as you say Toby US government and Goverments all over the world use Remington standard or modified they have won more comps around the world then any other action in one form or another the good thing as you say Toby is there are so many parts available for them and lets not forget even most custom action are Remy cloned so that tells you something they cant be that bad I own a .20 Tac with Remy action love it and wearing a HS Precision stock full aluminium bedding block most Gunsmith rate the Remy action and build accurate solid rifles on them.