How much magnification?

Big Al

Im new to long range varminting, I consider a 300yd target long range based on my previos experience of shooting over distance. In the past Ive shot bigger targets at closer ranges and 8x-12x mag and a fairly thick reticule has been just fine.

Last week I tried a new Fox scope (which has subsequently proved to be faulted) which was 8-32x with an illuminated target dot reticule. I was won over by the precision this uncluttered reticule and very small/precise dot afforded me and I shot the best groups Ive ever shot with it.

So unfortunaley I cannot get a replacement scope, I can get a Fox 8-32x without illumination but Im afraid the ret just disappears under the lamp. I can get a Fox 6.5-20x with illuminated dot but Im wondering if 20x will be enough. Alternatively I can go Sightron with the 24x SIII illuminated ret.

How much magnification do you guys think I really need to be shooting rabbits and crows to 300yds, I just cant really see me and my .223 doing this 450yd stuff I see on Youtube? I appreciate its not all about magnification and that resolution/glass quality is very important, for example, would a 17.5x Stac make things easier than a 20x Fox based on better glass etc?

I really need a fine target dot with illumination and a mag as low as around 8x for foxing under a red lamp but Im unsure how high a magnification I realistically need, any thoughts would be most appreciated or ideas on what you guys are currently using?

Thanks

Al

Al,you seem to be saying that your eyes need an illuminated dot option and about 8x for lamp fox.OK.