Amateur Tikka 595 pillar bedding

I decided to have a try at pillar bedding a T595 I have in .243. The rifle shot ok and I had previously skim bedded the action but I wanted to see if it could be improved still further. I should point out that before trying this i'd read up on the subject and spoken to a rfd friend who does build some very fine and consistently accurate rifles. I won't name that person but thanks for the time taken and advice given, its much appreciated. Also, this post is not meant to be a 'how to' guide, i'm not an expert, just an insight as to how I approached the job.

First the old bedding needed to be removed and pockets machined in the stock for the front and rear pillars. I milled the material out of the stock and machined deep enough for a 3mm thick bed under the action and deeper around the pillars.
post-9241-0-72578300-1501701084_thumb.jpg

post-9241-0-15608100-1501701156_thumb.jpg

Next I machined up two pillars. The rear one is a simple tube with grooves machined on the outside to provide some mechanical grip for the bedding compound. Anyone familiar with the 595 action will know they don't have a remington style recoil lug but do have a cylindrical boss on the bottom of the action where the front action screw attaches. I machined the front pillar to accomadate this boss internally and provide a form of recoil lug for the stock.

post-9241-0-81217700-1501701199_thumb.jpg

post-9241-0-74314400-1501701233_thumb.jpg

Next it was time to prepare the action for bedding. I plugged all the holes in the action with plasticine and gave the whole lot two very thorough coats of Kiwi polish, buffed between coats and making sure everything was covered!

post-9241-0-62196100-1501701272_thumb.jpg