Axtell 77 Sharps

terryh

Ive been shooting black powder cartridge rifles, BPCRs, for a few years and have owned various designs, rolling blocks, Winchester falling blocks and the more well know 74 Sharps seen in films such as Quigley Down Under, Valdez is coming and Legends of the Fall

For anyone whos never handled these guns there is something about the big single shot with its artillery like breach and long (normally) straight walled case that just feels right - big grins all round.

My current rifle is the Sharps 1877 also known as the English Sharps as the side lock action was made in Birmingham and shipped to Sharps. It is a slimmed down actioned version of the 74 resulting from the target shooters of the day wanting more weight in the barrel while still meeting the upper weight limit for the Creedmore Match

JilliansPictures013.jpg

(FYI the name Creedmore came from the fact that when the US hosted the first international match they did not have a range but located a suitable site on Creeds Farm, the vista prompted one of the organisers to say it reminded him of the moors of England, Creeds Moor = Creedmore)

The rifles was built by the Axtell Rifle Company and is in 45-70 or more correctly 45 2 1/10. It fires a 510g cast bullet (20:1 lead to tin) over 60 grains of powder to give a modest 1050fps MV. As I do not shoot BPCR past 600 yards these days this is enough.

JilliansPictures012.jpg

The action is a falling block which is operated by the under lever, exposing the back of the barrel, cartridges are simply pushed home and the breach closed. NB making sure the hammer is on first male chicken!

JilliansPictures009.jpg

When ready to fire you pull back the hammer to full male chicken, set the trigger using the back trigger, aim and trip the front trigger. Recoil is a push, lots of smoke (nice) and a sold thump on the back stop. These rifles can be very accurate much to the surprise of some (eh BD :) )

Sharps772.jpg